In the Country

24 Nov

This is my second post based on oulipo.  Yes, I still have to post an image for “On the Trail of Creativity,” and I’m working on that.  However, I’m also determined to pursue the weekly writing goal I’ve set for myself.  The oulipo constraint this time was to begin with “In the country.”

In the country nobody gets up before 10 or 11:00 am.  Meals are whatever springs up from the earth overnight or ripens on fruit trees in the yards.  Wafers gossamer coat the grass.  You can try to collect it, but the stuff melts by noon.  People and their stuff never age or if they do, nobody remembers different.

Lately random people go on excursions “out of the country.”  That’s how Momma explained it.  Nobody returns here from there.

I welcome your comments on any of my posts.  I appreciate your visit and Happy Thanksgiving!

.

.

.

.

Copyright ©2011.  Adrienne May and WinsomeWays, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.

2 Responses to “In the Country”

  1. Dawn Speed Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    Hi Adrienne,

    Wonderful to hear from you again. Hope all is well. In the Country reminded me of my mother’s stories of her youth (and a bit of my own childhood). Very evocative…days before electronics supplanted the simple pleasures of the smell of fresh air and sunshine in the laundry, finding cool-shaped rocks and walking through the woods alongside a creek.

    I’ve never used the oulipo method, but anything that adds to one’s creative juices is a positive.

    All the best,
    Dawn

    • Adrienne May Monday, Nov 28, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      Hello Dawn,
      Thank you so much for visiting and commenting. This site is my first blog so all encouragement is very welcome. Glad you liked ‘In the Country.’ I hope all is well with you and that you will return from time to time.

      Best regards,
      Adrienne

Leave a Reply

